Let’s Try This Again…

3 Feb

Okay. Last time I proposed some name options on here for my new writing venture, I was completely shot down… and rightfully so, all those options lacked any ounce of creativity and well, kind of sucked.

So I’ve done some brainstorming and asking around for other’s input and thoughts and now have a new round of business names that I’m putting forward to my blog readers for their opinions. Please kind in mind that some of these names are variations of names that I’ve had to adapt due to domain name availability. Also, whichever name I go with will be supported by a descriptive and appealing tagline to provide more context to the business name. Alright, here it goes…

This first group of options use the word ‘Reed’ in the title which is another word for ‘Pen’ which can also mean ‘to write’…

Reed-On Creative

Reed-On Communications

Reed Comp Communications

Reed Comp Creative

Reed Originals

These next few options use ‘Blue Pencil’ in the name, which is another phrase for editing.

Blue Pencil Communications

Blue Pencil Concepts

Blue Pencil Creative

These next two options use ‘Quill Driver’ in the name, which is another phrase for writing.

Quill Driver Creative
Quill Driver Communications

A few other options.

Drop A Kite Communications (‘Drop A Kite’ is synonymous with ‘correspond’ or ‘to communicate in writing’)

Feather Agent (‘Feather’ is another word for ‘pen’ and I just like feathers)

Born Concepts (because ‘Born’ is my last name)

 

So please let the opinions flow and if any of these names inspire another option, by all means, please share it. Thanks for reading and offering your insights – I really do appreciate it!

-Jamie

12 Responses to “Let’s Try This Again…”

  1. UG February 3, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    How about switching the order giving you Concepts Born or Creative Born?

    My lay opinion on reed sounds too textile and I like blue pen but question whether enough people understand the reference? Mind you that comes from a Pelagic person !! :)

    Cheers
    Glenn

    • Jamie Born February 8, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      Hey UG… thanks for the feedback. I really want to get away from using my last name in the title, for a few reasons. 1) I used my last name for a hypothetical company in my MBA program and got thoroughly mocked, 2) I think I can be more creative than that and 3) I hope that someday my last name will change :)

  2. Mike February 3, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    I really like Drop A Kite, but instead of Communications I’d go with Creative. I feel as if Drop A Kite Communications just doesn’t flow as well as Drop A Kite Creative. Either way though, I quite like Drop A Kite. I think people will be pleasantly surprised when they learn what it means as well, which is a nice way of grabbing people’s attention.

    Great stuff, Jamie!

    • Jamie Born February 8, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

      Hey Mike, thanks for the feedback… as usual! That’s a great suggestion for sure! I appreciate your marketing savvy-ness :)

  3. grama February 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    …. I really like the title’Drop a Kite Creative’It’s fresh and current.

    • Gail February 4, 2011 at 6:51 am #

      I like the Drop a Kite too … but how ’bout more obvious Drop a Kite Writing or Drop a Kite Wordsmith? and I like Glen’s suggestion of Creative Born, I also like Feather Agent. I love the word Creative but am wondering if it suits all the type of writing you will be doing?

      • Jamie Born February 8, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

        Thanks Gail… I kind of like Feather Agent myself but it might not be suitable for the marketing I’m targeting… we’ll see…

    • Jamie Born February 8, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

      Thanks grama… I am leaning towards that one, but I’m still not totally sold.

  4. kcourt10 February 8, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    This is great Jamie! What a fun idea. Nothing has jumped out at me, but I too like Drop a Kite (I can picture lots of creative logos and tag lines inherent in that one as well). My bent would be toward –

    Drop a Kite Creations

    kind of a blend of all the comments above. Seems to give flexibility to whatever clients would be looking for. I’m a bit of a literalist too, so a meaning of “Creations which communicate in writing” seems to fit too. :)

  5. kcourt10 February 8, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I guess “Concepts” works along those same lines too if “Creations” doesn’t seem cutting edge enough.

    Drop a Kite Concepts

    However, being the literalist again, “Concepts” leaves the “unfinished feel” for me personally. However, I will admit to being far from “in and hip” and the word could mean precisely what you’re hoping for to the target audience you are seeking. :)

    • Jamie Born February 8, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

      hahaha… thanks Kerby! I know what you mean – I’m trying to find that line between literal and creative. My tendency is towards creative, but I fear that the average business owner may not ‘get it’… but then again, they don’t necessarily have to ‘get it’ right away, they just need to be intrigued enough to check out my portfolio (eventually) and then give me a try (hopefully).

  6. SB April 24, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    He is risen indeed!

Leave a Reply

