It’s Official

21 Dec

From now on, when people ask me what I do, I tell them that I’m a freelance copywriter and editor. I have to admit, I really like telling people this. I feel like the word ‘freelance’ is so fancy and official. But in reality, nothing has changed. I still write and edit things, it’s just that now, I have a title. And I kinda like titles. Especially this one as this title has been about a year in the making. I’ve known for quite some time now that writing in some capacity is something that I’d like to do, but I haven’t had the confidence to do anything about it. And it wasn’t until recently, after receiving some affirming feedback from a few people, that I’ve really believed that this is something I can do. And I’m excited!

I currently have one client and yes, it still counts even though it’s the marketing company that I used to be employed with. They approached me about two months ago to write and edit their company magazine and the timing could not have been more perfect. God blows me away sometimes (it would be all the time if I paid closer attention).

My goal is to maintain a full-time writing work load meaning that I’m in the market for more clients. Over the next few months I will be having a logo created, launching a website (or a blog depending on resources) and getting business cards made. In the meantime, I need to settle on a name for my new endeavor and I’m hoping that whoever reads this will be willing to offer their opinion and/or suggestions. I’m pretty sure I’m going to stick with my name (Jamie Born) as the main title with a sub-name providing a description of what I do. But if someone has a brilliant suggestion, I may just have to change my mind. And if anyone has a great idea for a tagline, feel free to fire it my way :) Anyways, here are the options I’ve come up with so far:

Jamie Born Communications

Jamie Born Copy & Editorial

Jamie Born Copywriting

Jamie Born Copy

Jamie Born Copywriting & Editing

Jamie Born Copywriting & Editorial

Jamie Born I Write Things

Jamie Born I Write & Edit Things

Thoughts? Suggestions? Opinions? I’d love to hear it.

And, if you randomly (or not randomly) came across this blog post and are in need of writing and/or editing services, send me an email about what you’re looking for and we can go from there (and I can send some samples).

Thanks!

Jamie

12 Responses to “It’s Official”

  1. Traut December 21, 2010 at 10:07 pm #

    I like the second one so far!!! :) You are amazing and you definitely have a gift. Love ya!!!

    • Jamie Born December 21, 2010 at 10:15 pm #

      Thanks buddy! That’s the one I’m leaning towards too! Love you!

  2. Lydia December 21, 2010 at 10:11 pm #

    You rock… so I’m certain that you’ll continue to rock this. :-)

    • Jamie Born December 21, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

      Thanks Lydia… you’re awesome! :)

  3. Mike December 22, 2010 at 12:24 am #

    I’m not sold on any of those titles, but I’m kind of new school and think everyone needs to go with something catchy and unique.

    I’ve always taken a company name and logo to try and stand out from the rest; to get noticed. A company name should have meaning to it, but it doesn’t necessarily need to include what the company does. That’s what your job title is for. Imagine handing out a business card with “Jamie Born Copy & Editorial” as the company name. It would be repetitive to have your name and job title afterwards.

    I’d love to see some more unique options that are more eye-catching and perhaps have a personal story attached to them. I mean, your blog name, The Road To My Soul, would catch my eye much more than “Jamie Born Copy & Editorial.” I’m not saying that should be the title, but my point is that grabs my attention more :)

    I hope I’m not coming across as mean! I’m simply trying to give my opinion :) Good luck with your endeavour! You’re a much better writer than myself, and I’m envious.

    Also, since I’m unemployed and doing nothing at the moment, maybe I can sleep on it and possibly come up with some names myself to try and help out!

    • Jamie Born December 22, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      Mike… you’re totally right! Thanks for being honest. I appreciate your opinion… especially given your marketing background. If you do happen to come up with any ideas in your free time, I’d love to hear them. My email is jamieborn3@gmail.com.

  4. AKat December 22, 2010 at 12:38 am #

    Wow…Mike’s harsh!!!

    Hahaha just kiddin’
    I have to say i agree with him on many points. But what do I know?

    I’m very excited for you and will support you any way I can.

    Nighty night JR :)

    • Jamie Born December 22, 2010 at 11:21 am #

      AK, you know a lot.. come on :) Mike had some great points… I need to do some brainstorming.

      Thanks for the support… I appreciate it tons!

  5. grama December 22, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    Jamie, I would agree with Mike. When I chose the name of my art company I chose something musical because that is always something I loved and still do. Look inside yourself and see what makes ‘Jamie’tick.
    Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!

    • Jamie Born December 22, 2010 at 11:23 am #

      Thanks grama. And thanks for always following along what I have to say on here, I love that I have a grama who comments on my blog… how cool is that?

  6. jacob December 22, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    One more vote for mikes ideas, your way more than your company names so far! Although i liked the Jamie Born, I Write Things.

    How about…
    Peanut Butter and Poached Eggs, cleaning up the messy stuff!

    • Jamie Born December 22, 2010 at 11:26 am #

      Aw Jacob… thanks :)

      It’s funny because I added ‘Jamie Born, I Write Things’ kinda as a joke at the end. But I actually kind of like that one too, but it’s back to the drawing board. You’re right, I can do better. I’ll toss ‘Peanut Butter and Poached Eggs, cleaning up the messy stuff’ into the mix for the next round of name brainstorming and see what happens… thanks for the clever suggestion :)

Leave a Reply

