living the questions

8 May

I just finished reading my new favourite book.. When the Heart Waits by Sue Monk Kidd. From the very first chapter I was completely captivated by her poetic and engaging writing and how the words she wrote resonated so beautifully with my soul. Her perspective on spiritual transformation and ‘being still’ is the most honest and heart wrenchingly familiar depiction that I have ever read. I probably underlined, highlighted or made notes on over half of the book, but as I prepare for this spiritual journey (my road trip), one particular quote jumped off the page to me. As Kidd writes about how we are to live our questions… “coax the life of the new self by living the questions that inhabit our dark night, by dwelling creatively with the unresolved inside us,” she quotes Anthony de Mello…

“Some people will never learn anything because they grasp too soon. Wisdom, after all, is not a station we arrive at, but a manner of traveling… To know exactly where you’re headed may be the best way to go astray. Not all who loiter are lost.”

I read this and felt peace. I have so many questions and these questions spawn new questions. And some of these questions are tough. But I am ready to live them, and more importantly, I want to live them. Time and time again over these past few months God has affirmed my decision to take this journey and I have complete faith that His work with be evident and perfect as I live my questions.

4 Responses to “living the questions”

  1. Kathleen Hafey May 9, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I’m so excited for you as you embark on this journey and I’ll be praying for you every step of the way. I’m confident that God will fill your heart with peace, courage and fire as you pray and listen to his voice. Love you lots.

    • jamielynnborn May 9, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

      Thanks A Kat. I am so excited to go and see how God is going to shape me through it all! Love you lots too!

  2. Erin May 9, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Love the new look! I love the part about not all who loiter are lost! Just being right where God has you, no matter what it looks like to other people.
    See you soon

    • jamielynnborn May 9, 2010 at 7:36 pm #

      thanks… yeah, this design is a bit more me I think :) I know, that quote just embraces my soul like a nice warm blanket.

Leave a comment